Kerkennah is… (part 1)

A month after the accident and, hamdoullah, I am in good health. I am still wearing a brace as I wait for my bones to grow back together, but the pain and emotional strain is less and less. When I think back to that first week in the hospital, when I didn’t have the strength even to sit up, I am overwhelmed with gratitude at how far I’ve come in recovery.

When we both felt strong enough Mansour and I left Sfax to continue our recuperation efforts alongside the sea in the Kerkennah Islands. What was originally intended to be a change of scenery for a few days stretched into two unforgettable weeks. Kerkennah, when truly discovered, is beyond description – it’s one of those places you just have to experience for yourself. But, to give you an idea, Kerkennah is…

Fish Real Estate

Life revolves around fishing and Kerkennah has an entirely unique, centuries-old system developed for catching fish. Fish swim along the tunnel of netting and into a funnel made of palm fronds, where they can be easily retrieved by fishermen.

Traditional Clothes

 Weddings

I lost count of how many weddings I crashed. The party starts around midnight with traditional music and dancing and rages on until late morning. Everyone is invited, and one wedding I went to was so crowded people were gathering on the roof. If you stick around until the end you can watch a man performing amazing acts of balance (see video below).

This entry was posted in Kerkennah Islands. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kerkennah is… (part 1)

  1. Todd says:

    What is up with that outfit you are wearing on the bed? You look “interesting” to say the least! Keep getting healthy and stay safe.

  2. Bri says:

    Brit, I’m soooo happy to hear you’re feeling better! I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately and miss you to death!I can’t wait for our next b^2 reunion, wherever that may be. Love you, stay strong and keep smiling! Xoxo

    • Brittany says:

      Briiiiiiiiii! I miss you too and have at least one good b^2 memory everyday. I hope married life is treating you well and that you are sublimely happy. Waiting for you, Ross and Kris in Tunisia!

  3. Sara Trice says:

    Thanks for writing about the cha-fia. Mind if i borrow the pictures for a project on sustainability? The topic is overfishing in Kerkennah.

Leave a Reply

