It’s May…

I have been so busy as of late that I hadn’t even noticed it was May. May means my 8 month mark in Tunisia and my 26th birthday are just around the corner…

Last night, after stuffing myself with seafood lasagna for dinner, I found myself walking aimlessly around a dead-quite Sfax with a friend and reflecting on how bizarre it is that the Universe has landed me in this unknown city and, until recently, a largely unknown country in North Africa.

Since arriving here I’ve cut back little by little on scheming for my life and have thus found myself completely content in the not-knowing. For months I have flip-flopped on my summer plans – whether I should stay in Tunisia or return home to Colorado. I had all but decided to move back to the States for the summer when it hit me one morning that this wasn’t at all what I wanted. I have built a foundation here and staying for the summer means that I can put up the walls: building on friendships, my abilities as a teacher, and the language; and on equal measure allowing myself the pleasure of traveling and experiencing – two important things which I haven’t had time in the past months to schedule in. Things like learning how to cook Tunisian dishes, listening to a symphony in El-Jem’s Roman colosseum, going fishing in a fleuka in Kerkennah, having a real conversation in Arabic, experiencing a seven-day wedding, going camping in the Sahara…

So I am officially turning 26 and staying in Tunisia for the summer which brings me both great joy and a touch of sadness, because I really do miss home (and peanut butter, which I ran out of a few weeks ago). When the nostalgia starts creeping up I remind myself that even when seperated by great distances and lengths of time, friends and family are like latitudes and longitudes, never too far from the heart or mind.

This entry was posted in Sfax. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s May…

  1. abdelhedi says:

    A friend with a red Tee-shirt :p

  2. Todd says:

    We will miss you coming home this summer. I wonder if we can ship peanut butter over there, hmmm. Happy early Birthday Brittany, stay safe and have a wonderful time.

Leave a Reply

