The Unadventures of Miss Brittany

You know how you really know that you are in love when you start randomly breaking out into laughter, find yourself smiling thoughtlessly, and even your voice takes on a new tone? Well, it has happened to me… I’ve fallen in love with North Africa.

Last Friday I laughed so hard that I started to cry in the middle of my YLE Movers class, and nothing is funny about describing hair (unless you’re describing a mullet). Soon we were all laughing and nobody knew why. And I can’t say that it was my first time breaking out into laughter during a class… no, it even happened to me on my first day teaching at the oil company Serept! My poor students, who speak very little English, just stared at me, bemused.

So there you have it, I’m quite literally a fool in love. In love with sitting down for breakfast every morning for a café au lait and homemade morning cakes with pomegranate jam. In love with using the handful of Arabic words that I know at every opportunity and how every day is a game of charades in trying to guess what others are saying based on their gesturing. In love with the challenge of correctly pronouncing the names of my students and the countless ways in which they butcher “Miss Brittany”. I’m even in love with the ridiculous kid songs that get stuck in my head – today it’s “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes.” (Though I have to thank Katie for giving me a day’s respite with “Rock the Kasbah!”)

I know you are expecting more from me than romanticizing over breakfast and communication barriers, and I do promise camels and desert villages and Star War’s sets in the near future, but for now you will just have to excuse me as I relish in my unadventures. I can’t help it you see, I’m smitten.

This entry was posted in Sfax, Teaching English. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Unadventures of Miss Brittany

  1. Bev Mullett says:

    I’m not sure what you mean by unadventures! Your having the adventure of a lifetime…..loved your additional pictures on your site! Miss you but really enjoy being able to talk once a week….Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

