Finding Beauty

Sfax is not an outwardly beautiful city; rather it is practical and self-effacing. The buildings here employ a color palette of white and beige, trash cans go largely unused, and I haven’t yet found a grassy park in which I can escape the bustling traffic and crowded walkways. Many cities in Tunisia have a thriving tourist industry, but Sfax serves only its own – the businessmen, the students, the families. Ironically, the largest tourist draw here is the medina because it is untouched by tourism and therefore offers travelers an authentic shopping experience.

I think the challenge for all of us is to find beauty everywhere, to seek it out. Beauty in my city can be found in the smallest of details.. a cluster of brightly colored flowers spilling over a wall, a minaret, or something as simple as a cactus in bloom.

And then there are the bigger, more obvious images which capture my attention. I find myself repeatedly drawn back to the old city walls that surround the medina and imagining all that they have witnessed – from the French colonial empire, to bombings during World War II, to present day. That they have witnessed and survived so much history is truly beautiful.

This entry was posted in Sfax. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Beauty

  1. Cynthia Esgar says:

    Good morning, Britt….I love your blog …you are an amazing writer. You are right about finding beauty in the simplest things. I think the cactus picture is gorgeous and your description of the choc. croissants makes my mouth water. I wish you could bring some back with you.
    We are expecting Bryan & Mitsuko in a day or so…they left yesterday. It’s a bit cooler today. My little deer brought her fawn by the other day, and looked up at my kitchen window as if to say “Look, here’s my baby!!”
    Have a great week…you are loved a lot….Mimi

  2. Bev Mullett says:

    I too love the cactus picture! It’s amazing how different SFAX is from ol’ Colorado….I love the history of old countries. Miss you..Mom

Leave a Reply

