Tunisia? Where is that?

A 17th century Saint once said: “The World is a book and those who do not travel read only a page.” And I thought, wow.. Augustine of Hippo gets me. You see, the travel bug has this inexplicable urge to see, to feel, to question, to fear, to learn, and to repeat, and to repeat, and to repeat…

It isn’t enough to skim the pages, if we’re going to stick to Augustine’s metaphor. A two-week vacation is like drooling over french pastries through the bakery window after the store has already closed for the day. Full travel satisfaction, for me at least, involves setting-up camp – whether it be living with a Turkish family for two months, spending half a year in Taiwan with a boyfriend, or in this case moving to Africa to work in a country nobody seems to have heard of – “Tunisia? Where is that?

Don’t feel bad for not having heard of this tiny north African country – I hadn’t either until I made friends with five Tunisians while living abroad in Turkey. At the time I was delivering presentations to Turkish high school students on American culture through the Meet My Friend initiative – working with interns from all over the world to expand the worldview of Turkey’s youth. I subsequently had my first glimpse of Tunisia while sitting in on one of Chafik and Mehrez’s presentations on their home country. It was also around this time that I had my first home-cooked Tunisian meal, a whole fish cooked in a spicy red broth, prepared for me exclusively as Wajdi and Metoui’s dinner guest. Many more wonderful memories were to follow. Not surprisingly, the few months I spent with my Tunisian friends had that french pastry effect on me – so here I am a couple years later writing to you from the Frankfurt airport en route to north Africa, which I will call “home” for the next 6 to 8 months. Thus begins a new chapter in my world travels!

This entry was posted in Sfax. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tunisia? Where is that?

  1. Cynthia Esgar says:

    You are a fabulous writer, Britt….Love, Mimi

  2. Alibi M** says:

    Nice report , really love it too much ! Some more trips and reports and soon welcome to the embassy , they will take you for sure with some good arabic ! GOOD LUCK !

Leave a Reply

